Skip links

Facts about the 7 Continents For Kids

A continent is a large landmasses on Earth. The seven continents are: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia. Below you will find facts about the 7 continents for kids, and links to more facts.

Geologically, the continents largely correspond to areas of continental crust that are found on the continental plates. However, some areas of continental crust are regions covered with water not usually included in the list of continents. Zealandia is one such area.


Land Area of Africa: 11,670,000 (mi²)
Population of Africa: 1,119,307,147 (2016)

  • Africa is second in both population and size among the Earth’s seven continents.
  • Over 1 billion people can call Africa home.
  • The people of Africa are spread across 54 different countries in Africa.

More about Africa.


Land Area of Antarctica: 5,405,000 (mi²)
Population of Antarctica: 4,912 (2015)

  • Antarctica is the southernmost land mass on Earth.
  • The South Pole can be found here among its large permanent glaciers and frigid weather.
  • There are no permanent human residents, but anywhere from 1,000 to 5,000 people reside throughout the year.

More about Antarctica.


Land Area of Asia: 17,210,000 (mi²)
Population of Asia: 4,494,302,221 (2016)

  • Asia covers nearly 9 percent of the earth’s surface making it the largest of the continents.
  • It is the home to the most people with an estimated population of 4.4 billion as of 2016.

More about Asia.


Land Area of Australia: 2,970,000 (mi²)
Population of Australia: 39,901,000 (2016)

  • Australia includes the mainland of the country Australia and the island regions of New Guinea, Tasmania, and Seram.
  • Australia is the smallest of the 7 continents but is home to the sixth largest country.
  • The continent gets its name from the latin word ‘australis’ which translates to mean southern.

More about Australia.


Land Area of Europe: 3,931,000 (mi²)
Population of Europe: 738,849,000 (2016)

  • Europe  is noted as one of the smallest of the 7 continents, with 7 percent of the world’s landmass.
  • Europe is home to about 11% of Earth’s population and is the second most densely populated continent.
  • Europe is comprised of approximately 50 countries and several territories.

More about Europe.

North America

Land Area of North America: 9,540,000 (mi²)
Population of North America: 579,024,000 (2016)

  • North America is the 3rd largest continent.
  • North America includes Canada, United States, Greenland, Mexico and the Latin American regions.
  • North America makes up about 17 percent of the world’s landmass.
  • North America is home to about 8% of the people in the world

More about North America.

South America

Land Area of South America: 6,888,000 (mi²)
Population of South America: 414,332,000 (2015)

  • South American is the southern portion of the larger North American continent and located in the southern hemisphere.
  • The equator passes through the continent offering a tropical climate for much of the landmass with temperate conditions possible in the south.
  • The continent is the fourth largest of the 7 continents and is made up of twelve countries with Brazil being the largest.

More about South America