Skip links

Facts about Austria For Kids

  • Vienna is the capital city of Austria.
  • Austria is the 9th most populous country in Europe.
  • The Central European Time zone is Europe‘s most populous time zone.
  • The official language of Austria is German, with around 80% of the population speaking it as a first language.
  • There are only two natural borders – with neighboring Germany to its north and Hungary to its south-west.
  • The Rhine forms a natural border with Switzerland, while the Alps and its foothills form a natural border to the south, separating it from Italy.
  • Its western border is on the main path of migrations from both south and east.
    Austria is, therefore, a member of both the European Union and the Schengen Area.
  • The capital of Austria is Vienna, which is also its largest city and main economic center. Other important cities include Graz, Linz, Salzburg and Innsbruck .
  • The Austrian Alps cover most of the eastern part of Austria, with the Alps’ highest peak being the Grossglockner at 3797 meters.
  • The largest lake is the Wörthersee at 85 km.
  • Austria’s lowest point is at 278 m above sea level, which it shares with Germany .
  • Austria was part of the Holy Roman Empire until its unification into a single state in 1804.
  • Austria has 31,942 square miles of land.
  • Austria has a multiparty democracy.
  • Austria uses the Euro as currency.
  • 99 percent of adults here can read.
  • People in Austria can expect to live 80.65 years.
  • Austria is a landlocked country (no coastline); it shares borders with Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein.
  • The Grossglockner at 3,798 m is the highest mountain in Austria, situated in the Alps.
  • Austria has been a member of the European Union since 1995.
  • Tourism is one of the largest industries in Austria.