Skip links

Facts about Halifax For Kids

Halifax is the capital of the province of Nova ScotiaCanada. The regional municipality consists of four former municipalities that were amalgamated in 1996; Halifax, Dartmouth, Bedford, and the Municipality of Halifax County.

  • Halifax is considered a global city and is a major economic centre in AtlanticCanada with a large concentration of government services and private sector companies.
  • Major employers and economic generators include the Department of National Defense, Dalhousie University, Saint Mary’s University, the Halifax Shipyard, various levels of government, and the Port of Halifax.
  • Agriculture, fishing, mining, forestry and natural gas extraction are major resource industries found in the rural areas of the municipality.
  • St. Margaret’s Bay was first settled by French-speaking Foreign Protestants at French Village, Nova Scotia who migrated from Lunenburg, Nova Scotia during the American Revolution.
  • December 1917 saw one of the greatest disasters in Canadian history, when the SS Mont-Blanc, a French cargo ship carrying munitions, collided with the Belgian Relief vessel SS Imo in “The Narrows” between upper Halifax Harbor and Bedford Basin.
  • The four municipalities in the Halifax urban area had been coordinating service delivery through the Metropolitan Authority since the late 1970s, but remained independent towns and cities until April 1, 1996, when the provincial government amalgamated all municipal governments within Halifax County to create the Halifax Regional Municipality.
  • Since amalgamation, the region has officially been known as the Halifax Regional Municipality (HRM), although “Halifax” has remained in common usage for brevity.
  • Halifax’s urban core is home to a number of regional landmark buildings and retains significant historic buildings and districts.
  • The Halifax Public Gardens, a short walk away, are Victorian era public gardens formally established in 1867 and designated a National Historic Site in 1984.
  • Certain rural communities on the urban fringe function as suburban or exurban areas, with the majority of those residents commuting to and working in the urban core.
  • The Halifax Regional Municipality is divided into eighteen community planning areas which are further divided into neighborhoods or villages.
  • Spring Garden, adjacent to downtown Halifax, is a lively mixed-use neighborhood with a variety of shopping and entertainment options as well as the new Halifax Central Library.