Skip links

List of Elements in the Halogens Elements Group

The halogens or halogen elements are a series of nonmetal elements from Group 17 IUPAC Style of the periodic table. The halogens are five non-metallic elements. The term “halogen” means “salt-former” and compounds containing halogens are called “salts”. All halogens have 7 electrons in their outer shells, giving them an oxidation number of -1. The group of halogens is the only periodic table group which contains elements in all three familiar states of matter at standard temperature and pressure. Halogens are highly reactive, and as such can be harmful or lethal to biological organisms in sufficient quantities.

States of Matter That Halogens Exist In
1. Solid- IodineAstatine
2. Liquid- Bromine
3. Gas- FluorineChlorine

List of Halogens