Skip links

List of Democratic Presidents

What presidents were democrats? Fifteen members of the Democratic Party have served as president, governing for a total of 85 years. Five served at least two full terms and five served one full term. Three succeeded to the presidency after the death of their predecessor. John F. Kennedy was assassinated before his first term was finished.

1. Andrew Jackson was president from 1829-1837
2. Martin Van Buren was president from 1837-1841
3. James K. Polk was president from 1845-1849
4. Franklin Pierce was president from 1853-1857
5. James Buchanan was president from 1857-1861
6. Andrew Johnson was president from 1865-1869
7. Grover Cleveland was president from 1885-1889, was president from 1893-1897
8. Woodrow Wilson was president from 1913-1921
9. Franklin D. Roosevelt was president from 1933-1945
10. Harry S. Truman was president from 1945-1953
11. John F. Kennedy was president from 1961-1963
12. Lyndon B. Johnson was president from 1963-1969
13. Jimmy Carter was president from 1977-1981
14. Bill Clinton was president from 1993-2001
15. Barack Obama was president from 2009-present
16. Joe Biden was president from 2020-