Skip links

Facts about Ontario Canada for Kids

Ontario is one of the provinces of Canada, located in east-central Canada. It is home to the nation’s most populous city, Toronto, and the nation’s capital, Ottawa. Ontario is bordered by the province of Manitoba to the west, Hudson Bay and Quebec to the north, and to the south by the U.S. states of MinnesotaMichiganNew YorkOhio and Pennsylvania.

  • All but a small part of Ontario’s 1,677 mi border with the United States follows inland waterways: from the west at Lake of the Woods, eastward along the major rivers and lakes of the Great Lakes/St.Lawrence River drainage system.
  • These are the Rainy River, the Pigeon River, Lake Superior, the Saint Mary’s River, Lake Huron, the St. Clair River, Lake Saint Clair, the Detroit River, Lake Erie, the Niagara RiverLake Ontario, and along the St. Lawrence River from Kingston, Ontario to the Quebec boundary just east of Cornwall, Ontario.
  • The province is named after Lake Ontario, which is thought to have been derived from Ontarí:io, a Huron (Wyandot) word meaning “great lake”, or possibly skanadario which means “beautiful water” in the Iroquoian languages.
  • Northern Ontario is subdivided into two sub-regions: Northwestern Ontario and Northeastern Ontario.
  • The virtually unpopulated Hudson Bay Lowlands in the extreme north and northeast, mainly swampy and sparsely forested.
  • Southern Ontario which is further sub-divided into four regions; Central Ontario (although not actually the province’s geographic centre), Eastern Ontario, Golden Horseshoe and Southwestern Ontario.
  • Despite the absence of any mountainous terrain in the province, there are large areas of uplands, particularly within the Canadian Shield which traverses the province from northwest to southeast and also above the Niagara Escarpment which crosses the south.
  • Point Pelee is a peninsula of Lake Erie in southwestern Ontario (near Windsor and Detroit, Michigan) that is the southernmost extent of Canada’s mainland.
  • Parts of Southwestern Ontario have a moderate humid continental climate, similar to that of the inland Mid-Atlantic States and the Great Lakes portion of the Midwestern United States.
  • Along the eastern shores of Lake Superior and Lake Huron, frequent heavy lake-effect snow squalls increase seasonal snowfall totals upwards of 3 m in some places.
  • After the federal government asked Ontario to pay for construction in the new disputed area, the province asked for an elaboration on its limits, and its boundary was moved north to the 51st parallel north.
  • American troops in the War of 1812 invaded Upper Canadaacross the Niagara River and the Detroit River, but were defeated and pushed back by British regulars, Canadianfencibles and militias, and First Nations warriors.
  • During the Battle of York they occupied the Town of York (later named Toronto) in 1813.
  • The British North America Act took effect on July 1, 1867, establishing the Dominion of Canada, initially with four provinces: Nova ScotiaNew Brunswick, Quebec and Ontario.
  • Both Quebec and Ontario were required by section 93 of the British North America Act to safeguard existing educational rights and privileges of Protestant and the Catholic minority.
  • The first is to bring more renewable energy sources to the province and the second is the creation of more energy efficiency measures to help conserve energy.