Skip links

Facts about Saskatchewan for Kids

Saskatchewan is bordered on the west by Alberta, on the north by the Northwest Territories, on the east by Manitoba, and on the south by the U.S. states of Montana and North Dakota. Other major cities include Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Yorkton, Swift Current and North Battleford. Saskatchewan’s current premier is Brad Wall and its lieutenant-governor is Vaughn Solomon Schofield.

  • “In 1992, the federal and provincial governments signed a historic land claim agreement with Saskatchewan First Nations.
  • As a result, about 761,000 acres have been turned into reserve land and many First Nations continue to invest their settlement dollars in urban areas”, including Saskatoon.
  • Saskatchewan has the distinction of being the only Canadian province for which no borders correspond to physical geographic features.
  • Northern Saskatchewan is mostly covered by boreal forest except for the Lake Athabasca Sand Dunes, the largest active sand dunes in the world north of 58°, and adjacent to the southern shore of Lake Athabasca.
  • Southern Saskatchewan contains another area with sand dunes known as the “Great Sand Hills” covering over 120 sq mi.
  • Warm southern winds blow from the plains and intermontane regions of the Western United States during much of July and August, very cool or hot but changeable airmasses often occur during spring and in September.
  • Saskatchewan is the second most tornado active part of Canada, after Ontario, averaging approx.
  • The coldest ever recorded was −56.7 degrees Celsius in Prince Albert, which is north of Saskatoon.
  • The effects of climate change in Saskatchewan are now being observed in parts of the province.
  • There is evidence of reduction of biomass in Saskatchewan’s boreal forests that is linked by researchers to drought-related water stress, stemming from global warming, most likely caused by greenhouse gas emissions.
  • The provincial government has responded to the threat of climate change by introducing a plan to reduce carbon emissions, “The Saskatchewan Energy and Climate Change Plan,” in June, 2007.
  • The first European to enter Saskatchewan was Henry Kelsey in 1690, who travelled up the Saskatchewan River in hopes of trading fur with the province’s indigenous peoples.
  • The construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway would likely have been delayed or taken a different, more northerly route, stunting the early growth of towns like Brandon, Regina, Medicine Hat and Calgary – had these existed at all.
  • Ten largest municipalities by population This list does not include Lloydminster, which has a total population of 27,804 but straddles the Alberta–Saskatchewan border.
  • All of the listed communities are considered cities by the province, with the exception of Corman Park, which is a rural municipality.
  • Saskatchewan has the same form of government as the other Canadian provinces with a lieutenant-governor, premier, and a unicameral legislature.
  • After 16 years of New Democratic governments under premiers Roy Romanow and Lorne Calvert, the 2007 provincial election was won by the Saskatchewan Party under Brad Wall.